Alumni Leadership

Join the Alumni Council


The Alumni Council serves as a leadership forum for alumni/ae to contribute their energy and resources to the betterment of Cate School. In a word,Servons. Every person who attended Cate School for at least one year is considered an alumnus and is invited to attend and vote at Alumni Council meetings. The Alumni Council’s main objectives are to organize regional events, help Cate’s Director of Technology plan and develop Cate School’s technological policies, facilitate career networking and mentoring (see below) for Cate alumni, and provide support for class agents. If you would like to be involved with the Alumni Council, please contact Director of Alumni Relations Andrew MacDonnell at


Distinguished Alumni of Cate School

In 1972, Cate’s Alumni Council honored its first Distinguished Alumnus. Incidentally, he happened to be Cate’s very first graduate, Dohrmann K. Pischel ’14. Since then, the Alumni Council has honored 32 alumni for distinguished service to the School, a distinguished career in business, or exemplary public service. Recipients of the award include a senator, a noted scientist, several long-time trustees, entrepreneurs, a computer scientist, and philanthropists.

Though the award has not been given every year, the Alumni Council recently voted to make it an annual award. The first few awards were displayed in the McBean Library, but soon they became too numerous to fit into one location. The two most recent recipients are now displayed at the entrance to the Johnson Library, with the previous citations contained in a leather-bound book found inside the Johnson Library. In these more prominent locations, it is hoped that current Cate students will develop a better appreciation of the School’s past and, more importantly, an appreciation of how a Cate education can be put to good use.

The 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient, Christian Strachwitz ’51, was announced at Camp Cate 2016 and in the Fall 2016 Bulletin and Report on Philanthropy. Nominations for the 2017 Distiguished Alumnus/a Award can be submitted until April 1, 2017. Download the nomination form to submit your nomination.
Below is a list of the Distinguished Alumni recipients along with a link to their citations.


2016 Christian Strachwitz ’51
2015 Tim Bliss ’70
2014 Terry Sanders ’49
2013 Walter Douglas ’73
2012 Brad Roberts ’72
2010 Greg Kubicek ’74
2009 Mona Khalil ’84
2008 Burton Smith ’58
2007 William E. Steinberg ’68
2005 Richard D. Baum ’64
2004 Sir John Bond ’60
2003 David Pun Chan ’68
2002 Eugene Thayer Bigelow, Jr. ’59
2001 Dayton O. Hyde ’43
2000 Conrad L. Hall ’45
1999 John D. Caldwell ’59
1998 Peter Frederick King ’80
1997 Donald Hastings Harcourt ’50
1995 George Barker Barrett III ’45
1992 James Sloss Ackerman ’37
1991 William Matson Roth ’35
1990 John Morse Luce ’59
1989 William New, Jr. ’59
1988 Paul Moore Denison ’52
1987 William Stevens Prince ’42
1986 Michael Alan Morphy ’50
1984 Francis S. M. Hodsoll ’55
1983 Nelson Dorrington Jones ’48
1981 G. Ledyard Stebbins ’24
1981 John Rodman Hooker ’21
1980 Malcolm Wallop ’50
1980 Peter McBean ’30
1972 Dohrmann K. Pischel ’14


The first female students were admitted to Cate in 1981, and since then women have come to represent half the student body and more than a third of all alumni. In order to engage this growing population, Cate Alumnae Network (CAN) was founded in 2012 to provide opportunities for alumnae to connect with each other, current students, and the School.

The purpose of CAN is twofold: first, to establish connections among the many constituent groups of Cate women in order to provide professional and social opportunities; second, to enhance the ways in which women can interact with the Mesa by supporting the School in kind and in deed.

Created with a desire to honor the female Cate community, the Cate Alumnae Network (CAN) provides support to the women of Cate’s extended family. CAN is open to all Cate graduates committed to supporting the alumnae and female students of Cate. Discussion and context is about women and for women.

With nearly 200 members and counting, CAN events have been hosted in Santa Barbara, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Palo Alto, Chicago, New York, Washington, D.C., and Portland, OR. There have been CAN-sponsored Servons events in Palo Alto and Chicago, and CAN presentations and panels, from public speaking to perceptions of beauty, have been held on the Mesa.

Get Involved

  • Mentorships: Connect with a senior girl or recent Cate graduate. Student may live in the same city you, be interested in or attending the same college, or beginning a similar career track.
  • Electronic Communication: Help keep a lively stream of activity on the Facebook CAN group page and Advancement News blog. In addition, encourage your classmates to be involved.
  • Local Community Service: Organize Servons events in your city.
  • Alumni Weekend CAN Event: Determine the structure, organize, and recruit for an activity that brings together alumnae and female students.
  • Giving: Envision and enact ways to encourage support of Cate through service and/or philanthropy.

Stay Connected

  • Join the CAN group on Facebook.
  • Go to Advancement News and filter by “Cate Alumnae Network” for relevant articles.
  •  To be part of CAN, contact Carolyn Frary. Questions and suggestions are welcome!

Alumni Leadership Council

President: Jack Jackson ’95 – 3rd Year

Vice President: Peter Given ’99 – 3rd Year


Past President: Casey McCann ’97

Regional Chairs

Chicago: Monique Parsons ’84

District of Columbia: Tim Annick ’12, Abigail Baum ’04, Sarah Vasquez ’08

Hong Kong: Mimi Brown ’92, Sebastian Man ’76

London: Doug Lytle ’82, Katie Kinnear ’05, Lauren Suding ’98, Sarah Wilder Blank ’89

Los Angeles: Peter Given ’99, Trey Massar ’05, Ted Simpson ’86, Eric Taylor ’80, Robert Friedman ’70, Sheila Marmon ’90

New York: Mona Khalil ’84, Suliman Sanni ’03  

Orange County: Emily Anne Horowitz ’02, Lisa Stanson ’92

Portland: Fritz Hummelt ’90, Greg Kubicek ’74

San Diego: Chris Maloney ’80

San Francisco: Hilary Magowan ’90, Blair Elliott Paige ’86, Franny Thompson ’05

Santa Barbara: Casey McCann ’97, Matthew Morphy ’84, Palmer Jackson ’82, Dinah Moore Calderon ’90

Seattle: Anne Warjone Bridgeland ’86, Chris Breunig ’82, Jim Crutcher ’48

Seoul: Joshua Han ’09, James Chang ’16

Class Agents and Reunion Chairs are automatically considered members of the Alumni Leadership Council.


Chairs: Andrew MacDonnell, Jack Jackson ’95, Peter Given ’99


Chairs: William Choi ’05, Peter King ’80, Bill New Jr. ’59